The Native American Language Program

The University of Oklahoma is honored to serve as a place where Indigenous languages are preserved and revitalized.   Four Native American languages—Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, and Kiowa—are offered each semester.  Native speakers who have training in linguistics teach the classes. These languages satisfy both the College of Arts & Sciences' and the University's language proficiency requirements.

The language courses combine lessons in the grammar of the language with vocabulary lessons and supplementary material and activities designed to situate language learning in cultural and historical context. Considerable class time is spent on conversation, but students also learn to read and write in the language.